Head, Heart, Hands

Or: Know, Embrace, and Do

Head, Heart, and Hands

A little backstory:

My company is undergoing some pretty radical restructuring. Not quite anything like the Bobs from Office Space, but pretty dramatic. With it comes some uncertainty about existing positions and the new positions they’re being superseded by. One of the positions most directly affected by the restructuring is my own. My job will not exist as it does today by the beginning of the fourth quarter. That’s not to say that I’m being fired or anything like that—not even close, actually—it’s just that my position is going away and I’m going to be doing a job that is completely different from what I’ve worked hard for.

That’s a pretty big pill to swallow. So, I asked my cards for some advice.

Over at the Aeclectic Tarot forums, there are a number of threads discussing various spreads, ranging from simple two- and three-card spreads to elaborate 12+ card readings. The spread I used was simple, calling for only three cards. It is called “Head, Heart, Hands,” and I thought it was an especially appropriate spread for my state of mind. The cards are pulled to answer the following three questions:

  • What do I need to know about this situation?
  • What do I need to embrace about this situation?
  • What do I need to do about this situation?
The Hanged Man

XII The Hanged Man

My first card was XII The Hanged Man.

The Hanged Man, ruled by Neptune, can indicate a change of perspective. In my case, I interpreted it as meaning that I can’t look at this change through the same lens I’ve always used. This restructuring is going to result in a whole new organization, and if I want to see it clearly, I’ve got to change the way I’ve been looking at it.

This card can also represent a crossroads (symbolized in many decks by the man’s crossed legs). This could indicate a couple of different things, as I see it: either a change in my place within the company (not the change of title/position suggested, but an actual promotion or lateral transfer to another position entirely), or it could mean my departure from the company altogether. I don’t expect this will be the case, however, so I’m going with my gut reaction to this card, as above.

Card two was the Knight of Pentacles.

Knight of Pentacles

Knight of Pentacles

Pentacles (or coins) as a suit correspond to matters of finance and work. Knights typically represent motion, as suggested by the charging steeds ridden by the knights. As a “to embrace” message, this card tells me to go headlong into this upheaval, confident in my abilities as a manager to help me achieve victory. I need to let my career follow the path that’s ahead of me, and I will be rewarded for it.

The Knight of Pentacles also corresponds to the Manipura chakra, which is associated with intelligence, self-esteem, and transformation. This is also a clear sign that I need to have confidence in my strengths, and that I should embrace the inevitable changes that are on the way.

The Empress

III The Empress

Card three was III The Empress.

My first instinct was that the Empress, a mother figure, was telling me that young things need time to grow. This reorganization is being launched in bits and pieces across the company, and it’s going to take time for the new company to develop and mature into what it will eventually be.

I also thought that maybe this card was an indication that I need to provide comfort and reassurance to my employees (or “children”) to help them get through this tumultuous period in the company’s history. I’m not entirely convinced that either interpretation is right, though after mulling it over yesterday evening and today during my commute, I think my first reaction was more appropriate.

All in all, I think that this was a successful reading. It’s definitely the first multi-card reading I’ve done that I’ve felt really confident about. I’ve read some forum posts about how other readers will have an intuitive flash of understanding when reading the cards, and this is the first time I’ve felt anything approaching that. I certainly believe I’m becoming more attuned to my cards and their messages, and that’s a really cool feeling.

Leave a Reply

